Skip to content

Creating New Work

September 16, 2011

Maker Faire is just around the corner and I thought that I would post a few of my new tintype creations that I have been playing with. The early tintypists of the 19th century valued presentation as an integral part of the craft of making tintypes. There are many beautiful embossed cases and decorative frames that housed tintypes of the period. In my ongoing quest to reinvent tintypes in my own unique style, while still honoring the long tradition of the craft, I have been experimenting with different styles of presentation… adding flocked paper and embossed leather to the backs of the tintypes, framing the plates with metallic detailing, and hanging the plates from velvet and linen ribbon. I am really pleased with the vintage, sort of French-inspired look that I am getting. It suits my tintypes well. I have also been binding small artist’s sketch books, using the tintypes as covers and the braided coptic stitch to bind. A very long and meticulous process, but worth it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosemarie Head permalink
    September 16, 2011 2:59 pm

    lovely work, Meg

Leave a Reply

