Skip to content

Mother

July 6, 2012

I was honored to make two really lovely tintypes of Rachel and her beautiful baby, Bennett. This particular project has been plagued by the wide variety of challenges that the wet plate collodion process presents. In the winter, the collodion wasn’t setting properly. Then, on a sunny Spring day, the developer was too “hot” and overdeveloping the images.
And then, of course, we were up against the inherent challenges of photographing a wiggly little baby with a photographic process that demands long exposures and complete stillness.
Needless to say, it was all quite a challenge. I could see the image that I wanted in my head, but the plates just were not working out as I envisioned.
I owe many thanks to Rachel– her calm demeanor and patience kept me positive and willing to keep working through all the challenges, in pursuit of making a nice tintype plate of that image in my head.
We finally got two really beautiful plates and I’m sort of thinking that this might turn out to be the beginning of a lovely little series of mothers…

This was one of the earlier tintypes, and it’s one of those examples of when the ‘flaws’ of the wet plate collodion process actually end up adding character and uniqueness to the image. I love this image.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 2:18 pm

    Gorgeous work, I love it! ❤

  2. July 10, 2012 1:11 am

    I love your work. Just found your blog the other day and as a fellow lover of everything darkroom, especially alternative processing I just want to say thank you for blogging!

  3. September 15, 2012 11:34 am

    I love your project. Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

